Ready, set, let’s learn Canvas: August Workshop Schedule

Canvas has taken over the Weigle Information Commons for the month of August. We have workshops and office hours scheduled every single business day in August, and online workshops are in the works. Stop by and see us!

Canvas workshops are designed for faculty, instructors, administrative staff, and teaching assistants. All sessions will be held in the Weigle Information Commons Seminar Room (Room 124, Van Pelt Library). Laptops will be provided, but you are welcome to bring your own.

What’s the Big Deal About Canvas? A fast-paced introduction to the Canvas learning management system designed to give instructors who prefer to learn on their own an overview of the tools and capabilities of the system. This is not a hands on session. Brown bag lunches welcome.

Tuesday, August 6: 12:30-1:30 p.m.

Canvas Basics: New to Canvas? Learn how to add and organize your course site in this introductory hands-on workshop. No prior Canvas experience needed.

Thursday, August 1: 10-11:30 a.m.
Monday, August 12: 1:30-3 p.m.
Tuesday, August 13: 11 a.m.-12:30 p.m.
Wednesday, August 14: 12-1:30 p.m.
Monday, August 19: 11 a.m.-12:30 p.m.
Thursday, August 22: 11 a.m.-12:30 p.m.
Tuesday, August 27: 11:30 a.m.-1 p.m.
Wednesday, August 28: 10-11:30 a.m.

Blackboard to Canvas: This workshop is intended for faculty transitioning from Blackboard. Learn how to migrate your content to Canvas and how to leverage the new tools and features of Canvas in your teaching.

Wednesday, August 7: 11:30 a.m.-1:30 p.m.
Tuesday, August 13: 12:30-2:30 p.m.
Thursday, August 15: 10 a.m.-noon
Wednesday, August 21: 11:30 a.m.-1:30 p.m.
Monday, August 26: 11 a.m.-1 p.m.

Assessment and Grading in Canvas: Learn how to set up your Canvas Gradebook and create assignments in this hands-on workshop on assessment tools.

Thursday, August 8: 10-11:30 a.m.
Monday, August 12: 10-11:30 a.m.
Wednesday, August 14: 3-4:30 p.m.
Tuesday, August 20: 10:30 a.m.-noon
Thursday, August 22: 12:30-1:30 p.m.
Tuesday, August 27: 3:30-5 p.m.
Thursday, August 29: 1:30-3 p.m.

Canvas Office Hours: Canvas questions or quandaries? Come to office hours for hands-on assistance with your Canvas site.

Thursday, August 1: 11:30 a.m.-1:30 p.m., 3:30-5 p.m.
Friday, August 2: 11 a.m.-3 p.m.
Monday, August 5: 10 a.m.-1:30 p.m., 3:30-5 p.m.
Tuesday, August 6: 3:30-5 p.m.
Wednesday, August 7: 3:30-4:30 p.m.
Thursday, August 8: 11:30 a.m.-1:30 p.m., 3:30-5 p.m.
Friday, August 9: 11 a.m.-3 p.m.
Monday, August 12: 11:30 a.m.-1:30 p.m.
Tuesday, August 13: 10-11 a.m., 2:30-5 p.m.
Wednesday, August 14: 10-11 a.m., 1:30-3 p.m.
Thursday, August 15: 12-2:30 p.m., 4-5 p.m.
Friday, August 16: 11 a.m.-3 p.m.
Monday, August 19: 10-11 a.m., 12:30-1:30 p.m., 3:30-5 p.m.
Tuesday, August 20: 12-1:30 p.m., 3:30-5 p.m.
Wednesday, August 21: 3:30-5 p.m.
Thursday, August 22: 10-11 a.m., 3:30-5 p.m.
Friday, August 23: 11 a.m.-3 p.m.
Monday, August 26: 10-11 a.m., 1-2 p.m.
Tuesday, August 27: 10-11:30 a.m., 1-3:30 p.m., 5-7 p.m.
Wednesday, August 28: 11:30 a.m.-2 p.m., 3:30-5 p.m.
Thursday, August 29: 4:30-7 p.m.
Friday, August 30: 11 a.m.-5 p.m.

Register online at http://wic.library.upenn.edu/wicshops/canvas.html

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s