Instructors might want to completely cut off students’ access to their Canvas sites from past semesters. Instructors can do this by enabling a setting called “Restrict students from viewing course after end date.” For more information and instructions on using this setting, please see:
With this setting enabled, students no longer see a link for the site in their Canvas course’s list. If a student knows the site’s URL and tries accessing it directly through their browser by entering it into the address bar, they will receive an “unauthorized” message.
- We only recommend using this setting if an instructor wants to stop students from accessing Canvas sites after a semester end. The default access-setting for past Canvas sites is to allow students to view a course in a read-only mode, which means they can see content and download most files but they cannot take actions (e.g., submit an assignment). If this read-only mode isn’t restrictive enough, then the setting covered in this post should be enabled.
- The setting only stops post-semester access. Since students have full student-level access to a site during the semester it’s active, the setting can’t stop someone from taking content completely, thus we recommend being cautious when adding content to Canvas sites, using access-restricting settings (e.g., Draft State) when appropriate, and never, ever storing sensitive material like answer keys in a Canvas site.
- To learn more about Draft State, which can be used to restrict access to certain content, please see our documentation on Working with Draft State.
Please email Courseware Support at firstname.lastname@example.org if you have any questions about access-restricting settings in Canvas.